To do: Boston

sky1

I want to slow down.

Life has been on the hectic side lately due to a(n excellent) visit from my parents, the start of a new semester (complimented by tons of reading), the arrival of a new job, and the pursuit of an arts-related internship. Although everything is a bit busy and hurried right now, all is moving along smoothly, and I look forward to the changes that will be brought by all of these things. But despite all the promise of opportunity, I really want the pace of things to change, to reflect what I truly want to be doing with my time.

And so, in this bout of booked-calendar pages, I wanted to acknowledge my resolutions and a) spend more time outside, and b) pursue the unwritten resolution that alway stands: be more adventurous. Now, by no means are any of my intended plans the height of adventure, but all offer much fun and excitement, and I need both of those things right now. By slowing down and taking the time to appreciate these things–not rushing through museums, not quickening my pace as I walk–I feel that I’ll be able to reconnect with my priorities and set myself straight. One of my teacher’s assistants from an earlier semester told me, during the height of a paper-induced anxiety attack, that I really needed to step away from my work and just get outside. I have a hard time allowing myself to do that. So I’ve come up with a little plan of things I can do locally that will allow me to remain calm, enjoy myself, and get a little culture in.

Hopefully in the next week I’ll be able to:

…go to the Museum of Fine Arts to see the And so to Bed exhibit, featuring Indian bed curtains. I love textiles and prints, and enjoy studying/reading about the various trade routes that existed in history, specifically that of Europe and the East.

…see the Faith Ringold exhibit at the Danforth Museum of Art. She’s a quilting artist who uses her quilts to tell elaborate stories involving race and gender equality issues. Seeing this is a must!

…attend the Shepard Fairey lecture and exhibit at the Institute of Contemporary Art. Fairey is, in my opinion, a living legend, if only for the fact that he elevated a “low art” like graffiti to high art status the moment that his iconic image of Obama was entered into the National Portrait Gallery. He tagged his ubiquitous portrait on a building just across the parking lot from my building, and every time I see it, I smile. It would be tragic to miss the opportunity to hear him speak.

…just spend some time in the sunshine (and likely, snow) at a local park with Scott. There’s a charming little square on the corner of Warren Avenue and West Canton Street, near a very unusual church. Seeing as my Druid mittens are finished and not properly documented, this will likely become the setting for a little knitting photoshoot.

For now, though, I’ll continue reading American Jezebel for my History of Boston class. Being busy might not be that bad…

Leave a Reply

