A yarn-cation, in parts.

IMG_5048

Here is the cozy cabin that housed my family for a week while we vacationed on Loon Lake in the Adirondack Region of New York. I hadn’t spent an extended period of time upstate since I was a child, when we’d frequently drive up to Lake George for weekends with extended family and share a lake with hoards of tourists. The primary difference between the two experiences: seclusion. It was perfectly quiet at night this time around, so much so that we would stay awake at night with our ears on edge waiting to here something, anything. Call it a result of living in the city for so long, but I just have such a hard time sleeping with perfect silence!

Luckily, by the second night the wolves came out and provided some distraction. Sleep was easier to come by. The lake was cool and refreshing, and we spent many a morning running off the long dock and jumping in. And canoeing. And taking long walks.

IMG_5072

We were a forty-minute ride from most civilization, which was a new experience for all of us. So when we did venture away from our lake, we had to max out the trip to its fullest potential. Naturally, this meant yarn stores.

IMG_5355

Adirondack Yarns was in Lake Placid, where we also visited the site of the Olympics, ate some amazing barbecue, visited the summit of Whiteface Mountain, and played a riotous round of mini golf. The store was large and packed to the brim with fiber and rovings, and had more completed store samples than I’ve ever seen in a yarn store before. It was really impressive. But the biggest draw for me was the selection of Fleece Artist yarns—I haven’t encountered much in my experience, so I got a little too excited about it. Above is the Merino 2/6 sock yarn in an unspecified colorway. It will either become an amazing pair of socks or an Ishbel; I have swatching to do.

IMG_5353

I went crazy when I saw this SeaSilk. The color is straw, and I think it will make a stunning Swallowtail for my mom for Christmas. It reminds me of the story of Rumpelstiltskin—spinning rough straw into silken gold floss. It is so much more beautiful in person than the camera could capture.

I’ve got just a bit more from Connecticut and the postal system, but that will be for another day. For now, I’m off to fondle and admire these little treasures from a wonderful family vacation.

Leave a Reply

