Seed stitch for the soul.

IMG_5630

There are big sources of stress in my life right now, but I’ve finally figured out a way to remain calm.

I only just recovered from being sick for over a week, and was instantly stricken with an awful dental complication. Without going into too much detail, I’m on a round of meds as of an hour ago that will hopefully keep me from having to undergo a really intense round of oral surgeries. Hopefully is the operative word right now. Crossing my fingers, displacing the worry until my next check up so I don’t make myself sick.

School is coming to a crest right now and although I’m not stressing over the volume of work coming at me, there is quite a lot of it. It feels good and gives me purpose, as things haven’t been very challenging this semester. A trip to the library in a little while will fuel me with a tall stack of books to chew through over the weekend, and I am really looking forward to spending the entirety of tomorrow’s rainy Saturday all cozied up in my flannel sheets with a whole pot of tea by my side and millions of words to pour into my brain.

Despite the  influx of things to think about lately—and the vexing health matters—I am very comforted by my newest knitting project (among a handful of unfinished projects), a sweater for mom for the holidays. I’m working it up in Eco Wool, so it will hopefully float off of the needles rather quickly so that I can get back to the whole ‘doing more’ thing I spoke about previously in my holiday to-do list. Typically I find swatching tedious, as I never get gauge and always have to fudge it and usually curse the results when everything is said and done. However, these swatches required seed stitch. And if there is one great comfort to me, it is the rich, pebbly texture resulting from the pairing of alternating knits and purls. It used to be my go-to pattern and I knit Scott and my father both dense alpaca scarves out of it. At this moment in time, it is just about all I want to knit. I’m musing on a thick alpaca coverlet or afghan to drape at the foot of the bed, and can guarantee that by year’s end, it will become a reality.

Tonight will be an evening of hot chocolate, reading, and more seed stitch (this time for the actual garment!), and I could not be any more excited for it.

2 thoughts on “Seed stitch for the soul.

  1. Oh, I hope you feel better soon! Knitting is good for soothing the soul. Best of luck with your Christmas projects! This was the first year I actually got them done ahead of time, usually it’s a last-minute scramble.

Leave a Reply

