A few great knitters.

Write about a knitter whose work (whether because of project choice, photography, styling, scale of projects, stash, etc) you enjoy. If they have an enjoyable blog, you might find it a good opportunity to send a smile their way.

When I saw the topic for today’s post, I became a bit overwhelmed. I have too many favorite knitters out there! So, I’ll spend a moment with a few (known by their Ravelry names) who continue to inspire me for various reasons.

  • Sigrun. Her projects are so colorful and fun to look at; her Rav page is where I go when I need a good cheering up. I especially love her scrappy projects.
  • HyenaInPetticoats. Here’s a knitter after my own heart: someone who likes to knit on her own terms, with minimal pattern guidance, using saturated colors. The simplicity of this sweater is so appealing to me.
  • Melbelle. Her pattern page is such a well-curated collection of knits: soothing colors, classic shapes, and stylish pieces. She makes a lot of traditional knit pieces look incredibly up to date and fashionable. And she can rock a big shawl like nobody’s business.
  • KnittingDropout. I lovelovelove Melissa’s designs (and her personal projects). They appeal to my need for the kind of rustic, robust, yet stylish pieces that are a staple in my wardrobe. Of course, I haven’t knit any of them yet. I’ve been picking yarn out for months in my head, just so that I can get everything right when it is time to knit, and also because of the yarn diet which we do not speak of. More on that bit later.

I could go on, but I’ll stop for now and revel in the work of those lovely knitters for a little while. In fact, this sort of post may become a recurring theme on the blog. There are too many great knitters and designers out there who deserve many moments of praise!

Leave a Reply

