Location, location, location.

Where do you like to indulge in your craft? Is your favourite arm chair your little knitting cubby area, or do you prefer to ‘knit in public’? Do you like to crochet in the great outdoors, perhaps, or knit in the bath, or at the pub?

I’m sitting in my apartment right now, trying to figure out where to tell you that I knit. I want it to be somewhere exciting or romantic, like on a bench beneath one of the blooming trees lining the Charles River right now, but in the spirit of baring my soul for this blog, I have to admit that it’s right in this very spot where I’m typing right now: smack in the middle of an Ikea couch, with cushions already worn in with a depression from my bottom (sidenote: how is that for a run-on sentence?). Incidentally, this is also where all of my schoolwork and writing happens, and also where I eat my meals, and often where I listen to music and daydream. I’d say that the nominal expense of the couch has already broken even because of just how much it gets used. But, anyway, instead of chatting about a bland eggplant-colored couch, I’ll tell you about where I want to knit. Because that’s much more interesting.

I’d love to knit near the sea in my hometown, preferably during twilight, listening to the sound of the waves and occasionally sipping on a coffee (or peanut butter) milkshake from the ice cream shop down the street. The logistics of gales of salty air swirling sand about (and into) my knitting have prevented me from doing this in the past, alluring as the scenario may seem. This might be the year to live dangerously and bring some wool to the beach.

At the Museum of Fine Arts. There’s a lovely tufted velour bench situated directly across from John Singer Sargent’s The Daughters of Edward Darley Boit that would be ideal for long stretches of knitting. However, the room gets a lot of foot traffic, and is rather dark, so I would have to contend with questions from curious museum goers in addition to some major eye strain. Or, I could just go to the Dutch still life gallery. No one is ever in there.

Photo by Lucca Galuzzi — http://www.galuzzi.it

There are these uncomfortable, gritty concrete benches lining the plaza surrounding the reflecting pool at the Christian Science Center in Boston, but they provide a gorgeous view. The intersection of old and new architecture, bustling crowds, plant life, water and sunshine coalesce into a uniquely serene atmosphere that would be perfect for zoning out during the highly meditative act of looping yarn around needles. Knitting here has been a dream of mine since I moved to Boston five years ago, but I’ve kept away because there are two things I’m rather nervous about in life: knitting in public, and knitting in public by myself. I’ll have to try and overcome it, though–it would be a shame to live life without having knit in all of these beautiful places!

Leave a Reply

