The ironies of freedom.

As is usually the case in my life, my much-anticipated break from school has been thwarted. The moment that I turned in the last lengthy paper, I felt a tickle in my throat, and a fogginess in my ears. I’ve spent the last week since then feeling every shade of awful, yet managed to successfully attend a work event (of which pictures will follow; it was a very exciting day!) and land myself a volunteer position that will turn into an internship by summer’s end, should everything stick to plan. I’ve blown through more tissues than should be permitted, and have consumed more tea this past week than I have, probably, all year. But my, how those steaming little cups do soothe, both the body and mind!

I’m of the sort of sick person that can knit despite her ailments, and have done so quite a bit since my ‘freedom’ began. The scrap blanket is coming along nicely, and I’m hoping to snap some in-progress photos this weekend. That lovely cone of heathered navy deliciousness up there is a long-treasured bargain from Colourmart, procured for a mere 25 dollars,  running roughly 1600 yards. My feelings on cashmere now differ vastly from when I bought the cone over a year ago—I take issue with how it is sourced, and how it taxes the environment, and its role as a luxury good. But if there is one thing I am not, it is wasteful, so I’m putting it to good use and allowing it to be the single cashmere item in my wardrobe. It will be, if my math and gauge tweaking harmonize, a Featherweight cardigan. And it will be scrumptious. I’m about halfway through the raglan increases (on size 3.5 mm needles, so it’s going to take a while, thankyouverymuch!), but am enjoying it immensely. It’s the perfect mindless, soothing knitting to occupy your hands and clouded head over cups and cups of steaming tea.

2 thoughts on “The ironies of freedom.

    1. Thanks so much! I slowly feel my immune system coming back and cannot wait to rejoin the land of the living.

Leave a Reply

