Crafty diversions.

To say that I’ve had a tumultuous school break would be an understatement. In the span of a couple of weeks, I managed to get a really bad cold, experience some terrible food poisoning, become unemployed, and waste a lot of time. It’s pretty sad—I had these grandiose visions of how I would spend my newfound abundance of free time, but when it came down to it, I really missed the structure of classes and homework, and found myself floundering.

Yesterday was a turning point. I realized that I only have two weeks left before my summer classes start up, and a whole lot still left on my crafty to-do list. I’ll discuss this in depth later, but for now, I’ll start by introducing a diversion from my normal knitterly activities: beading. I’ve lightly dabbled in the craft before (mentioned here), and am still on the fence about its merits, but had a specific project in mind that required I take it up. So I popped over to my neighborhood bead store (by which I mean I rode the T for half an hour across the Charles to another neighborhood’s bead store), and spent my rapidly diminishing money on some beads and fixings. A couple of hours later, I had this little beauty to drape around my neck:

And when I say ‘this little beauty,’ I mean a cobalt blue version of the same necklace that didn’t work out quite as nicely. In my initial haste to see how the project would turn out, I took some unfortunate shortcuts and created a necklace ill-suited to my perfectionist tendencies. It has since been frogged (de-beaded?), and will be resurrected this weekend. There’s one more successful version, which I’ll likely introduce to the blog this weekend. But this one is my favorite.

This picture gives a better look at the charming beaded braid. The tutorial can be found here, on one of my new favorite blogs, Eighteenth Century Agrarian Business. I think I used smaller beads than they did, but no matter—I’m over the moon with how it turned out. Once you get the process down, you can make any number of variations: shorter or longer chain, style of braid, type of bead. I want to make a version with multi-colored beads and doubled leather cord. Which brings me to the best part about this craft: it’s cheap, and it’s fast! As a knitter used to the slowness of creation, this was a welcome surprise.

Speaking of knitting, some things have grown. Of course, with sock yarn and 3.0 mm needles, they have grown incredibly slowly, but become larger nonetheless. Naturally, the only way to demonstrate this is with a blurry, out-of-focus picture, because I still haven’t figured out how to focus with a timer. Someday!

I think you get the idea, though. Much bigger than three measly squares! In fact, I’m about 1/8th of the way there! Now I just need to knit up more fingering weight projects, because I’m running out of scraps!

More necklaces and knitting to come, very soon.

8 thoughts on “Crafty diversions.

  1. and you should be over the moon — this necklace is STUNNING. and my, that blanket. so lovely. hope your break is filled with lots of making. and that your summer classes are fun ones, things you want to spend time on…

    1. Thanks so much! Luckily my summer classes WILL be fascinating, and are subjects I’m very eager to learn about.

  2. Wow that necklace is beautiful – i ‘m very tempted to make one myself, you have inspired me! and that website is absolutely amazing – new favourite for me too -their stuff is all so great. Thanks for the link. And good luck with the blanket , it’s looking great!

  3. Whoa, is that your sock yarn blankie? It’s grown so much! Let me know what kinds of scraps you’re looking for — I have small feet and end up with leftover sock yarn all the time. I’d be more than happy to contribute to the blanket.

    Your beaded necklace looks pretty too. I love the vivid color.

    1. It has grown thanks to all of this free time I’ve had lately! I’m using mostly hand-painted and hand-dyed yarns, just for the sake of keeping it somewhat uniform. I would love anything you may have to offer, if you don’t otherwise need it!

      And thanks!

  4. Your necklace is beautiful! The blanket looks great, I like the colors you’re using.

    Thank you for your lovely comment 🙂 Χάρηκα πάρα πολύ και μακάρι να συναντηθούμε αν έρθεις στη Θεσσαλονίκη! Αν χρειαστείς οποιαδήποτε βοήθεια με τα ελληνικά, στείλε μου email – θα χαρώ πολύ να σε βοηθήσω!

Leave a Reply

