A new chapter?

For a while now, I’ve been very fascinated by the process of dyeing yarn. Manipulating color is an incredibly fun, tricky, surprising, and rewarding process. I studied fiber arts briefly a couple of years ago while at art school, and continually come back to the principles I learned there: working intuitively, creating a recognizable aesthetic, and pursuing the areas of art and craft that you truly enjoy. I love everything about the dye process, from the mixing of colors, to the myriad methods of dye application, to the time spent over a steaming pot poking dye into yarn with a chopstick. Those lessons I learned in art school have modified the way I go about my dye process; I do keep loose formulas for how I mix colors, but I allow myself ample wiggle room to change things along the way. I can’t say I have a strong aesthetic now, as I’m still ironing out some kinks, but I know what I’m working towards. And as I play with different fibers, and branch out into dyeing fabrics, I’m certainly experimenting with this expansive realm of art and craft.

Now that I’m without a job for the summer, all of this extra time has allowed me to think about what dyeing means to me, and what I want to do with it. Of course it’s a lot of fun, but there’s no way I could keep up with knitting all of the yarn I dye—it would undoubtedly pile up, unused, and out of sight. And I quite like the outcome of recent dyeing adventures, so I don’t want all those lonely skeins to wallow in the cabinets. So in about a week or two (after dad’s 50th birthday party, and my twenty-something birthday), I’ll be opening up an on-line shop with a few of my skeins. Up there is an as-yet-unnamed skein of delicious, burnt-pumpkin-y goodness. I’m so tempted to keep it, but I certainly have student loans to pay down, so I won’t.

“Reading Time with Pickle”

I don’t know what will come of my little shop experiment, but I’m very excited and anxious to see. I certainly don’t expect to make a living out of it, but if I have enough pocket money to keep doing what I’m doing, and maybe afford the occasional pint or book of poetry, I’ll be a happy woman. Scott has been lighting a fire under my bottom to do this for a long time, and has generously provided capital to get me started (by which I mean plenty of undyed yarn). I can’t tell if I’m scared of success, or failure, but either way, I’m a bit nervous sending my goods out into the world!

I’ll be back soon to hash out the details, post some more pictures of the yarns, and talk a bit about the inspiration behind my colors and the name of the brand. I look forward to chronicling this entire process here, and watching how it evolves!

2 thoughts on “A new chapter?

  1. love, love the pumpkin yarn. so pretty. and good luck on your shop adventure – i will keep an eye out for it. i too have been contemplating some sort of enterprise for my crafty endeavours, spurred on by those around me, but haven’t really worked it out in my mind just yet.

    1. Thanks for the kind words! You make beautiful quilts, so why not try your hand at selling mini quilts, custom-ordered, perhaps? I don’t know what you have in mind, but you’re a tremendous talent in that realm!

Leave a Reply

