Beginnings.

Pinked

Today at work I recycled last year’s calendar and put up a fresh new one. As I pressed the thumbtack into the wall, it finally hit me today – not Saturday at midnight when the ball dropped, and not Sunday morning when Scott and I celebrated the new year with a nostalgic Greek breakfast – that it is now 2012 and time really is going completely on warp speed. It doesn’t feel like 2011 existed for me. Everything was rushed: I raced my way through finishing school; I graduated and hurried off to a summer vacation; I immediately began graduate school upon my return; I fell into a new job on top of my old one and time ticked on, a little bit faster than usual. I don’t want to wallow in the reality of all of that, in the adult-ness and the routines and lack of control. I want to move forward.

I want to savor this year.

I want it to feel like time is languidly snaking by, and I realize that I’m the only one that has the power to do that. It means taking walks in the sun (or snow, if we ever see any this year) on my lunch breaks. It means waking up a few minutes earlier in the morning so that I can have a cup of tea at my table instead of sipping furiously at stoplights on the commute to work. It means filling my evenings with as much quiet and comfort as possible to restore my sanity before repeating everything all over again the next day.

My list of resolutions for this year is long and the goals lofty. I’ll save that list for another day. For now, I thought it would help to jot down my crafty resolutions:

  • Knit 12 hats in 2012
  • Finish all UFOs
  • Finish a quilt
  • Sew at least one useful, wearable garment
  • Sew one holiday gift/month
  • Knit one Christmas ball/month
  • Design one thing
  • Take my time
  • Knit/crochet/sew from pattern sources/materials I already own
  • Be happy with what I have, and look away from the shiny

That last one will be the most difficult. But it’s a challenge worth undertaking.

 

Happy New Year, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Beginnings.

  1. happy new year to you! i appreciate the challenge of being present when there is just so much going on — this is something i work on, too. can’t wait to see all of those knitted hats!

  2. I’m definitely with you on # 2, 9 and 10. It’s so easy to get distracted by new fabric lines, shiny new yarns, etc. I need to focus on using what I have, and getting a few stubborn projects off the needles and sewing machine.
    Good luck!

  3. Happy New Year! I’m also trying to be more present. Time flies, and I remember it going by more slowly. Maybe we can slow things down together.

Leave a Reply

