The beginning of a new craze.

open wide

There are a few things about which I am fanatical: donning pajamas the moment I get home from work; making lots of tea throughout the day; reading each new issue of Martha Stewart Living from cover to cover when it arrives in the mail; and harping on a pattern once I’ve made it up successfully.  I become smitten once it works out, whether it’s knit, crocheted, or sewn, and make it a million times (like the Christmas when I made nine Lined Drawstring Bags). This is that pattern right now — the open wide zippered pouch from Noodlehead.

open wide unzipped

As soon as I saw the pattern, I couldn’t help but see the infinite possibilities: a single-fabric version, the contrast bottom, the opportunity for a pieced pouch. It’s a perfect scrap- or stash-buster, and if you have a well-stocked craft supply, you should have everything you need on hand. I made the medium size, using less than a fat quarter of this lovely tonal batik and a light chambray weave. It took no time to sew, and the pattern makes for a very impressive, clean-lined finished product.

knitting bag

It doesn’t hurt, of course, that the bag is large enough to hold a knitting project in progress. I just started Norie in some stashed Rowan Felted Tweed, and am loving the ability to tote it around in such a chic project pouch.

I’ve cut the fabric for another six or so of these. I don’t know when I’ll get around to sewing them all, but you’ll be seeing a lot of them in this space!

Leave a Reply

